The Man by the roadside

By Eronie Kamukama

thPS52MF74

He sat on the bench along the East-West road, his hair wet, his hands shaking, his eyes red, his face wrinkled and his body cold. He had been sitting at the roadside for four days and he seemed not to be moved by anything around him.

His name was Jamie Roland but people preferred to call him Jay. He was famous in town because he was social, always happy and funny. I always opened my window in the morning just to get a joke from Jay because he would make my day, little did I know that I was falling in love with him.

I could see the glow in his eyes too whenever we talked. He would talk to me softly and I would wonder where in the world such a man had been hiding. He was honest, humorous, intelligent and kind.

One day, Jay hit the nail on the wall and told me that he was in love with me. I knew that I was head over heels in love with Jay but I could not bring myself to accept the fact that I could love another man after Ricky, my high school sweetheart.

I had sworn never to allow any man to say those sweet nothings to me. I knew that the magical words would get to my head but not to my heart

When Jay mentioned those powerful three little words to me, I just pushed the door behind him. I left him outside in the coldness and I knew I had crushed his heart because I told him I could not love him back.

I felt my eyes tearing when he said that I would be the last woman he would ever love and that if I let him go, I would never see him again.

His words pierced through my heart but I had to let him go. That was the last time I saw Jay’s smile and then I knew sadness had engulfed his warm heart and happy face.

I kept on telling myself that sometimes we love but we have to learn to let go too.

Leave a Reply

